top of page

Zero Waste: Of Trash and Junk Shops

A week ago I was browsing through "Buhay Zero Waste's" feed on facebook and saw a post about SM Mall's monthly Trash to Cash activity. From the name itself, they convert your junk (books, newspapers, PET bottles) into cash. So I thought that this would be a great way to get rid of the useless stuff we have at home.


I didn't come to work early today because:

1. I'm pretty burnt out with the usual routine.

2. This week had been very, very toxic.

3. I have heaps of errands to run.

I figured that this would be a good time to pay SM a visit and went there at around 8:40 am hoping to drop off my old books from college and the mountains of coke bottles my fathah left. (He loves Coke) To my disappointment, the only person there was a guy who was also waiting for the person in charge. Note that I am very particular with time! Worst part is that there was no time set as to when that person would arrive!


Wasting time is a big no, no hence I left my books there. They pay you about 50 cents per kilo of paper which is quite a teeny tiny amount ...but that wasn't the reason why I was there in the first place. Proper disposal was what I was after. :D SM does not accept broken electronic appliances because of the hazard it posts. After which I went around looking for a junk shop around Mabolo and would you know, I found one! They weighed the useless oven I had and gave me about PHP 40.00 for it. Not so bad. When you think about it.... Who would give you money for something you don't want anymore? Indeed, it would not go to the landfill because they're going to upcycle it into something else. That's one less trash in the household! Mind you, my decluttering skills are at 99% now. :D


To my Cebu friends who are going zero waste, here's the junk shop I was telling you about:


It's on the right side if you're going to Mabolo from Ayala.


It's on the right side if you're going to Mabolo from Ayala.

Voila!

I would suggest that you go to the junk shop instead of SM to avoid wasting time. Here they accept broken appliances, computers, boxes and other scrap, except for glass. There are not a lot of posts about junk shops within Cebu city so I hope this helps! It's the tiniest effort that makes the biggest changes. Go for it!



Live Green,

Michelle

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page