top of page

Making The Switch: The Start Of My Zero Waste Journey

The beach has is a refuge for people who are in dire need of a breather. For some though, it has become a second home. The waves, the sand, water and wind --- we all want some, if not, a lot of that.


2016 - We traveled to Phuket for a quick getaway and oh yes, it was a lovely place to be! Being a self-proclaimed beach baby, I absolutely loved the long stretch of Andaman shoreline. As I swam, a piece of garbage always, always got tangled on my leg. So I constantly had to go back to shore to put it away properly. Not only there, in Maya Bay it was also the same situation, there were bottles on the water and tourists did not even bother to even pick one up. NOT one. Their sunset left a mark as one of the most marvelous ones I've seen my whole life but seriously, when will people ever learn to keep something as beautiful as that?


With this, I had come to a realization that traveling goes way beyond sight seeing and appreciating culture. Travel is when you respect a place enough to pick up what others leave behind and do what is right. It is to really...leave no trace.


Little did I know that it was there that a spark within me lit and I knew I just had to do something - my own little way. I had become aware and more conscious of what I was buying. It may not have been completely 'zero waste' but that was a start!


In the next posts, I hope to share with you my journey to a zero waste lifestyle. Boy, it's not easy and I have my fair share of 'zero waste fails.' However, every bit of effort is never wasted!



P.S

It's good to be back! Wow! How long has it been since my last post? :D

Cheers!

Michelle

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page