top of page

Diversity is Beautiful: India (Part I)

"Why India?"

I didn't have the slightest possible explanation as to why we have decided to travel to India. We booked for the tickets more than a year ago even without the visa. Can you imagine? We took the high jump but it was all worth it.

I don't hate it but I can't say that I love it..not just yet. One thing is for sure, it opened my eyes to a completely different world. India has a culture that is initially hard to embrace and it is not for the faint of heart. Culture shock is always inevitable but believe me, I had more than what was expected.

Kolkata, the capital of West Bengal, is the second largest city in India. Prepare to feast on a smorgasbord of culture...from sundry architecture to the famous Bengali food. All these awaken your senses.

The sound of loud horns were deafening and it ultimately made me froze in the middle of the busy street at some point.

It's not exactly the cleanest of clean. Up at Elliot Park I was in absolute disbelief of the public toilet! My long history of recurrent UTIs left me with no choice but to pee on the floor. Peeing in the bowl itself was impossible as it was covered in black filth and it was the first time I've seen such thing. It's unforgettable and I almost cried (not joking.) haha!

Elliot Park

Everything was so new to me. People stare but this shouldn't intimidate you. You don't see a lot of foreigners here so maybe that explains it. Planning on trying out street food? Well you better have a mighty strong immune system. What you don't know won't hurt you. Question is, what if you do know? They make the Rotis and Rolls fresh from the smoking hot cast iron...and make it right in front of you with their bare hands. Admittedly, this made me cringe a bit. Nonetheless, do what Indians do...just eat it!

You wouldn't understand what I really mean unless you yourself would go there. It's hard to put in print what one experiences because every single bit of it is unique. I had been the type of person who closes her shell from people and situations that drift her away from the safety of her comfort zone. Here though, you are left with no choice but to put your best face (and smile) forward. It was painstakingly hard at first but I'm glad I was able to change this aspect about myself.

Victoria Memorial

The Mother House

St. Paul's Cathedral

When people hear India, they often have this wrong notion 90 percent of the time (here in the PH , that is) --- Overpopulation, cows, dirt and they would always say it smells bad there. That is so untrue. Some places here in Cebu are much worst. Every country has a side not everyone knows about...it's not always beautiful but learn to welcome and embrace it. Some locals are extra friendly, they might even want to take picture with you. Don't take this the wrong way --- they are very sincere about it.

Friendly Indian Lady :)

Sunset

The visually pleasing architecture is composed of a perfect mix of the past and the modern era. The ever so timeless Mother house should be included in your list of places to visit. They have a gallery dedicated to the life of Mother Teresa and it felt spine-tingling just to be present there. More so, drop by St. Paul's Cathedral and see the gothic-like architecture. It is one of the last monuments of British Imperialism...indeed a must see. Be ready to take a walk into the past! You don't need to look at your map all the time...go and get lost for once. ♡

Messy hair don't care!

Oh yes, I miss Kolkata. It's barely a month since we traveled there but I miss it. I find myself reminiscing our early morning walk to the undiscovered corners and alleys, the smell of hot momos and curry, the everyday festive atmosphere. It's probably just a teaser of what India is. I don't know about New Delhi or Bangladesh but my heart is surely open for another wanderlust. Bring it on!

⌘ ⌘ ⌘

✈ Michelle ✈

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page